Publish date:

2021 International Aftercare of Racehorses Forum Series Starts April 6

The International Form for the Aftercare of Racehorses Series will start April 6 and be held virtually each Tuesday in April.
IFAR conference 2021

Registration is still open for the fifth International Forum for the Aftercare of Racehorses (IFAR), which is being held virtually this year as a series of live weekly webinars on April 6, 13, 20 and 27 April at 12 p.m. GMT (which is 8 a.m. Eastern, 7 a.m Central, 6 a.m. Mountain, 5 a.m. Pacific). Each session will last approximately one hour.

“With nearly 300 registrants already, we are excited by the enthusiasm demonstrated by the Thoroughbred industry for what will truly be a global event,” said Di Arbuthnot, chair of IFAR. “Between educating on aftercare best practices, offering case studies on aftercare programs in various jurisdictions, and showcasing the versatility of racehorses in second careers, the four sessions that compose the 2021 IFAR will be ‘must-see’ viewing for all who are impacted by the Thoroughbred.”

The April 6 session, “Aftercare-Racing’s Responsibility,” will provide an update on IFAR’s activities from Arbuthnot and feature perspectives from Yogi Breisner, MBE, equestrian coach (U.K.); Jessica Harrington, trainer (IRE); Graham and Anita Motion, owners, Herringswell Stable (U.S.); and Nemone Routh, racing office manager, Aga Khan Studs (FR). The discussion will be moderated by international racing broadcaster Nick Luck (U.K.).

The full schedule of webinars, including speakers, moderators, presentation topics, bios, and the link to register can be found at internationalracehorseaftercare.com/virtual-ifar/. All sessions are free, but registration is required. Recordings of each session will be made available on the IFAR website. Those who attend each session live will be able to ask questions to presenters.

IFAR has previously been held in conjunction with the Asian Racing Conference in Cape Town, South Africa, in February 2020; the European & Mediterranean Horseracing Federation’s General Assembly in Oslo, Norway, in May 2019; the Asian Racing Conference in Seoul, South Korea, in May 2018; and the Pan American Conference in Washington, D.C., in May 2017.

IFAR is an independent forum that recognizes geographical and industry differences among racing countries and is designed to enhance Thoroughbred aftercare worldwide. Working with the International Federation of Horseracing Authorities, IFAR will raise awareness of the importance of welfare for Thoroughbreds, improve education on lifetime care, and help increase demand for former racehorses in other equestrian sports. For more information on IFAR, visit internationalracehorseaftercare.com.

AAEP-MediaPartner_1968x1100
AVMA-PLIT-logo_resized
BEVA-logo_3757x2100
WEVA-Logo-Dark-Background_1789x1000
NZEVA-logo_1100x1968

ISELP-logo_1100x1968

AAEVT-logo_2050x3667
Untitled design (7)
epm-society-partner_1968x1100
Mexican-equine-vet-association-