61st Annual Convention Goes Down as Second Largest in AAEP History

Practical content, abundant networking opportunities and a premier entertainment destination proved an engaging combination as 7,394 veterinary professionals, students, exhibitors and guests converged on Las Vegas, Nev., Dec. 5-9, for the American Association of Equine Practitioners’ 61st Annual Convention. Convention attendance ranked behind only the 2009 edition that also was held in Las Vegas.

The meeting offered 135 hours of continuing education in diverse and relevant areas of equine medicine, from podiatry and reproduction to internal medicine and lameness. In addition, acclaimed neuropsychiatrist Daniel J. Siegel, MD, served as the keynote speaker while renowned large animal internist Thomas J. Divers, DVM, DACVIM, DACVECC, presented the prestigious Frank J. Milne State-of-the-Art Lecture.

“Dispensing educational content that is current and implementable in everyday practice is the hallmark of a productive meeting,” said AAEP Executive Director David Foley. “I commend this year’s program chair, Dr. Kathleen Anderson, and the Educational Programs Committee for delivering a program that was mutually beneficial to practitioners in the field, the referral hospital and academic settings.”

Highlights from the 2015 convention included:

Installation of new officers and board members: Kathleen Anderson, DVM, Fair Hill, Md., was installed as the 62nd president. She is joined as a 2016 officer by R. Reynolds Cowles, Jr., DVM, Earlysville, Va., president-elect; Margo Macpherson, DVM, Gainesville, Fla., vice president; Jack Easley, DVM, Shelbyville, Ky., treasurer; and G. Kent Carter, DVM, College Station, Texas, immediate past president.

New members of the board of directors are Amy Grice, VMD, Virginia City, Mont.; and Dan Keenan, DVM, Crosswicks, N.J.

Annual awards presented: Four AAEP members and a longtime association executive were honored during the Dec. 8 President’s Luncheon.

Distinguished Educator – Academic Award: Virginia Reef, DVM, DACVIM, DACVSMR, DECVDI
Distinguished Educator – Mentor Award: John W. Lee, Jr., DVM
Distinguished Service Award: Mr. Brad Mitchell
Distinguished Life Member Award: Nat White, DVM, MS, DACVS
President’s Award: Kenton Morgan, DVM

Events raise funds for the AAEP Foundation: Combined proceeds from the AAEP Foundation’s benefit golf tournament, live and silent auctions, special gifts and donations at the Foundation booth raised $91,350 in support of the Foundation’s mission to improve the welfare of the horse.

The AAEP’s 62nd Annual Convention will be held in Florida at Orlando’s Orange County Convention Center, Dec. 3-7, 2016.

The American Association of Equine Practitioners, headquartered in Lexington, Ky., was founded in 1954 as a non-profit organization dedicated to the health and welfare of the horse. Currently, AAEP reaches more than 5 million horse owners through its over 9,000 members worldwide and is actively involved in ethics issues, practice management, research and continuing education in the equine veterinary profession and horse industry.


Don’t miss the latest in equine health/research and vet business/vet health/industry news from EquiManagement’s Newsletters!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.