AAEP Foundation, Hiscox Insurance Award Scholarships

Eight veterinary students committed to a future in equine practice have been selected to receive $2,500 scholarships from Hiscox Insurance Inc./American Live Stock Inc. and the AAEP Foundation. The annual scholarships are presented to fourth-year veterinary students who are proven leaders at their veterinary schools, advocates for equine welfare and academic achievers.

Representatives from their colleges nominate the veterinary students. Each accredited college or school of veterinary medicine may nominate one fourth-year veterinary student who plans to enter private equine practice and develops its own criteria for nomination.

The scholarship recipients are:
Vanessa Gant Bradley – University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine
Erin Contino – Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Hayley Lang – Western College of Veterinary Medicine
Rachel Roemer – Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
Johanna Rosenfield – The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Kathryn Smith – University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine
Jill Westerholm – Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine
Gabe Young – Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine

 Since 1989, the AAEP Foundation has collaborated with American Live Stock Inc., which was acquired by Hiscox Insurance Inc. in 2009, to offer an annual scholarship program. In the past 20 years, the program has allocated nearly $300,000 to assist veterinary students in their pursuit of a career in equine medicine.


Don’t miss the latest in equine health/research and vet business/vet health/industry news from EquiManagement’s Newsletters!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.