Three New Honorary Members for BEVA 

Professor Peter Clegg, Professor René van Weeren and Professor Rob Christley have been awarded honorary membership of BEVA.
New BEVA Honorary Members being recognized by Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal.

Professor Peter Clegg, Professor René van Weeren and Professor Rob Christley have been awarded honorary membership of BEVA in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the equine veterinary profession. Peter and René were presented with their Honorary Memberships by Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal at BEVA’s Congress on Thursday, September 14, 2023.

Professor Peter Clegg has received Honorary Membership in appreciation of his role as Associate Editor of EVJ and in particular, for helping to achieve a balance between the interests of clinical readers and the priorities of academics relying on publications for career progression. 

“Pete has been instrumental in ensuring that high scientific standards have been maintained in our review process and policies, allowing us to continue to be the leading international journal in equine veterinary science,” said David Mountford, Chief Executive of BEVA.

Professor René van Weeren has received Honorary Membership for the support he has given over the years, in his role as Associate Editor of Equine Veterinary Journal and as an Editorial Consultant Board member. 

“René’s frequent contributions to our Congresses and his personal contributions to equine sciences and education have undoubtedly improved understanding in equine practice,” said David Mountford. “For many years he has ensured that EVJ’s articles on orthopaedics and musculoskeletal biology are of the highest possible standard, while remaining topical and relevant.”

Professor Rob Christley was awarded Honorary Membership for his role as an editor and statistical advisor to EVJ but was unable to attend Congress in person this year. 

“The ever-increasing standards and reporting which EVJ has been able to achieve over the past 12 years are a credit to Rob’s work,” said David Mountford. “The invaluable support he has provided to authors has enabled many to overcome the challenges of analysing heterogenous clinical datasets and also helped them to find constructive solutions when statistical problems were identified by reviewers.”

Honorary membership is awarded to those who have made a significant contribution to the equine veterinary profession. Individuals are nominated by BEVA members and then approved by BEVA Council and at the BEVA AGM. They receive free BEVA membership for life.

Trending Articles
Special Issue: Help Horse Owners Prepare for Care
White line disease on horse hoof
White Line Disease in Horses
Tablets Pills Horse
Using the Right Medications to Manage Chronic Pain in Horses
Horse with colic lay down and sleep outside
Strangulating Lipomas
Get the best from EquiManagement delivered straight to your inbox once a week! Topics include horse care, disease alerts, and vet practitioner updates.

"*" indicates required fields


Additional Offers

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.