New Veterinary Technology Programs Accredited as Others Close

The AVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities accredited nine new veterinary technology programs at its Nov. 7-9, 2014, meeting in Schaumburg, Illinois. That brings the total number of accredited programs to 225. The new schools, which were given initial accreditation status, are as follows:

  • Colby Community College Distance Learning Program, Colby, Kansas
  • Heritage Institute, Fort Myers, Florida
  • Heritage College, Oklahoma City
  • Institute of Technical Arts, Casselberry, Florida
  • Midwest Institute, Fenton, Missouri
  • Milwaukee Career College, Milwaukee
  • Pima Medical Institute, Houston
  • Wright Career College, Overland Park, Kansas
  • YTI Career Institute, York, Pennsylvania

In other CVTEA actions, Anthem College in Phoenix; Baker College of Port Huron in Port Huron, Michigan; and Brown Mackie College in Michigan City, Indiana, requested and were granted terminal accreditation because of program closures.

Brigham Young University in Rexburg, Idaho; Sanford Brown Institute in Pittsburgh; and Vatterott College in Omaha, Nebraska remain on continued terminal accreditation.

Anthem College in Kansas City, Missouri; Kaplan College in Phoenix; Minnesota School of Business in Shakopee; Sanford Brown College in St. Peters, Missouri; and Sanford Brown College; Tysons Corner, Virginia, had their accreditation withdrawn on the basis of voluntary closure.

Terminal accreditation applies to programs that are voluntarily discontinuing. Graduates of terminally accredited programs are considered graduates of an accredited program. However, graduates of a program at the time accreditation is withdrawn are not considered graduates of a CVTEA-accredited program.

Of the 225 accredited programs, 23 offer a four-year degree, and nine offer distance-learning opportunities. There are 146 programs assigned full accreditation, 67 assigned initial accreditation, six assigned probationary accreditation, and the six mentioned earlier that have been assigned terminal accreditation. Alaska and Montana are the only states, along with the District of Columbia, that do not have CVTEA-accredited veterinary technology programs.

View the complete list here.

The CVTEA has 45 site visits scheduled for 2015, including 11 for new programs. There are currently 17 programs that have applied for accreditation.

Trending Articles
Horse Stable
13 Texas Horses Positive for EIA
Madigan Foal Squeeze Technique
Happy Horses in Modern Stable
Strangles Confirmed in 3 Michigan Counties
Disease Du Jour: Regulatory Veterinary Medicine for Horses 
Get the best from EquiManagement delivered straight to your inbox once a week! Topics include horse care, disease alerts, and vet practitioner updates.

"*" indicates required fields


Additional Offers

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.